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NO SMOKING

SEE ALSQ: Chapter 70.160 RCW (formerly Washington Clean Indoor Air Act); Governor’s Executive Order EO 88-
06, Establishing Governor’s Policy on Smoking in State Facilities

This policy applies to all employees and volunteers of Washington State Parks.

1. Smoking Not Allowed in State Facilities

In compliance with Chapter 70.160 RCW and the Governor’s Executive Order EO 88-06,
State Parks does not permit smoking in State Park facilities, buildings, vessels or vehicles,
except as provided in this policy.

For the purposes of this policy, smoking is defined as the inhaling, exhaling, burning or
carrying of any lighted smoking equipment, including but not limited to cigarettes, cigars or

pipes.

2. Emplovees Advised of No Smoking Policy

The Human Resource (HR) Office ensures that all agency recruitment bulletins specify that
the Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission is a smoke-free agency.

Supervisors ensure that all new employees and volunteers are advised of the No Smoking
Policy.

The HR Office provides all new employees with a copy of the No Smoking Policy.

3. Permissible Smoking Areas

Smoking is allowed in designated areas outside of agency facilities, buildings, vehicles, and
vessels; or at distances greater than 25 feet of any building entrance, window that opens or
building ventilation intake vent. The open deck area of agency vessels is considered
“outside” for the purposes of this policy.

Smoking is allowed in state-owned, leased or contracted buildings that are used exclusively
as private residential facilities.

“No Smoking Within 25 Feet” signs will be posted at or near building entrances.

Designated Smoking Areas at State Parks’ Headquarters shall not be visible to the main
public entrance. '
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4, Emplovees Receive Smoking Cessation Assistance

The Employee Health and Safety Program will provide employees who request help to stop
smoking with information regarding available smoking cessation programs. The cost of such
programs shall be paid by the agency on a one-time basis up to maximum of $200. Smoking
cessation products such as nicotine patches, gum, or prescription medicine will not be
covered. If approved, the agency will pay the costs associated with smoking cessation
programs not covered by the employee’s current health insurance.

Requests to participate are to go through the chain-of-command to the respective Region
Manager, Service Center Manager or Deputy Director for approval. Eligible employees who
choose to participate in smoking cessation programs will do so on their own time.



